Slovenia declared her independence on 25 June 1991 and was recognized by Turkey on 6 February 1992. Diplomatic relations between Turkey and Slovenia were established on 26 August 1992 through a Protocol signed by the Foreign Ministers.

The Embassy was opened on 1 April 1993, in Ljubljana.H.E. Ambassador İlhan Yiğitbaşıoğlu presentedthe letter of credentials to H.E.Milan Kucan, President of Sloveniaon 5 May 1993 and becamethe first Turkish Ambassador in Slovenia.

The Embassy building is located in Bezigrad district which is in the vicinity of city center.

Office of the Counsellor for Commercial Affairs continues its activity as attached to the Embassy.

The Embassy has a Consular Section whose jurisdiction encompassess whole Slovenia.


Aylin Taşhan Ambassador
Monday - Friday

08:00 - 12.30 / 14.00 - 17.00

Monday-Friday 08:00-12:30 14:00-17:00 (Consular Office: Monday-Friday 09:00-12:00)
1/1/2021 New Year Holiday
2/8/2021 Slovenian Cultural Day
4/5/2021 Easter Monday
4/27/2021 Day of Uprising Against the Occupation
5/13/2021 Religious Holiday
6/25/2021 Statehood Day
7/20/2021 Religious Holiday
10/29/2021 Turkish Republic Day
11/1/2021 Day of Remembrance for the Dead
12/26/2021 Independence and Unity Day